Introduction Post: What I’m Doing Here

I have discovered that there are some professions which eventually become difficult to “turn off” after hours. Doctor, psychiatrist, lawyer, mathematician, designer… teacher… academic researcher…. and so here we are. I am a teacher and an academic researcher, as well as a voracious fan of just about all geeky/nerdy media types. I find it impossible not to mix them all: I cannot turn off the literary analysis when I read comics or fantasy or play a video game, and I cannot entirely turn off the teacher in me when playing a tabletop roleplaying game.
I am also one of those people who have great difficulty keeping silent in the face of perceived wrongs. The phrase ‘anima irenea’ is a piece of medieval Latin that has several related meanings: a peaceful spirit; a spirit at peace with itself; a spirit that brings peace. In my opinion, these are at times contradictory, but all of them describe me at various stages of my life and writing. Sometimes my writing here may be inflammatory in content or tone. I have strong opinions – and I can hear my friends laughing at the understatement. Some of my posts here will address things I perceive as wrongs — keeping me at peace with myself, although I welcome lively and passionate argument and civil discussion.
Some of these posts will get very political, especially concerning education and civil rights. I welcome debate on any post I make here, whether political or otherwise, but please keep discourse civil. I reserve the right to delete comments which are discriminatory, threatening, or harassing in any fashion.

4 Comments

  1. I look forward to reading your future content. Also, may I nominate librarian for that list of always-on professions on the grounds that the librarial consciousness is its own unique hermeneutic lens, situated somewhere between academic researcher and educator? 😉

    • Good call, John! I’d also add some of the finance professions to the list. It’s a long one, I’m sure. I also think you’re right that while “librarian” has commonalities with both “researcher” and “educator,” there are some key differences as well, particularly in views of information structure and hierarchy.

Leave a Reply

